Celebrating Celibacy

Picture this – a lonely, young girl, thrown into the midst of post-adolescent hormones and mid-cycle heat.

It is Friday night – It was a long, sticky day. The night breeze is refreshing. A sense of adventure and sweet feel-good vibes fill the air… And then… She wakes up. Suddenly shaken from her hot, sweaty mood and catapulted into the cold reality of singledom where getting satisfied means playing STI russian roulette with a stranger.

So I want love, skin contact and the occassional tete a tete. Do I get it? yes I DID. Until now though it meant nothing. It was readily given by men who did not know me, my fears, my strengths or dreams. So – after been left feeling empty one too many times following one-night-stands and brief affairs or day dreaming of the steamy gym trainer or my secret office crush while nearly crushing the vibrating object in my hand (sorry for being so direct) I have made a decision. No sex the next three months! I mean no blow jobs, hand jobs, masturbation, erotic movies, no wet dreams or day dreams or any sex-related thoughts. Three months of concentrating on my career, my friends and my fun. I hereby pledge celibacy until the last day of February 2013 has arrived. This is my promise. My motif? To eventually regard and use sex in a healthy way and hopefully curb the everlasting flame in my belly.

I figured starving a flame off oxygen will eventually kill it… Here is hoping

Leave a comment